Facebook          

The Minor House, courtesey of Lilly Libray,I.U., Hohenberger Press

In 1857, Robert M. Minor and his wife Rachel, arrived in Brown County. They prospered and eventually built a beautiful home on Van Buren Street in Nashville. The Minor House was later owned by John and Ronnie Sherrill (as shown above). The small restaurant (to the left) was operated by Sue Dawn Sherrill.

Many years later, Jack Rogers, proprietor of the Nashville House, bought the property in an effort to foil a scheme to turn it into an ice rink. Mr. Rogers offered to sell the house to the newly formed Brown County Art Guild. The guild's members adapted it into a functional gallery, and  the first exhibit opened in 1954.

The building had been used as a gallery for nearly twenty one years at the time of Marie Goth's death in 1975. It had become cramped and limited as the Guild outgrew it's interior. Marie left a substantial gift from her estate to the Brown County Art Guild, and a completely new structure was the result of her generosity. During the three year renovation process, the Guild continued to have exhibits, usually in the studio of member artist, Fred Rigley.  Steve Miller was the architect for the remodel of the Minor House and George Wood was the builder.

The Minor House, 1954 (photo courtesey of the Brown County Historical Society)


Minor House Online Gallery

The beautiful interior lobby was constructed with rough-sawn Tulip Poplar walls and rough sawn Oak floors. The main galleries were constructed with brushed Sassafras walls, smooth-planed Poplar posts & beams, quarter-sawn Oak doors and mixed Oak flooring. This "elegant yet rustic" interior created a truly stunning environment in which to showcase artwork. Once completed, the newly remodeled interior included metal work by Nashville artist Jack Brubaker and stained glass windows by Ron Schuster (Sweetwater Gallery). The exterior now closely resembles the original house. The first exhibit in the newly remodeled space opened in 1978.

The gallery today, as you enter the Guild on the first floor

Today, we are pleased and proud to be the stewards of the Marie Goth Estate Collection. At Marie's request, exhibition space has been set aside as a memorial to her artwork and the artwork of her most beloved friends and family, V.J. Cariani, and Carl and Genevieve Goth Graf. Their work is featured in the lobby entrance and also in two rooms in the Loft Gallery on the upper level.

With over fifty contemporary member artists, the Guild continues to thrive and grow. We are proud to offer one of the very finest art venues in the Midwest, and to promote and maintain the legacy of Marie Goth and our rich artistic heritage.

The Guild is handicapped accessible and there is an elevator for easy access to both floors of the gallery.

Entry to the Brown County Art Guild